{}
CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Freeman awarded double as call is overturned

|
Freeman awarded double as call is overturned play video for Freeman awarded double as call is overturned

ATLANTA -- The Atlanta Braves won a manager's challenge in the fifth inning on Wednesday afternoon, when an out call at second base was overturned, giving first baseman Freddie Freeman a leadoff double.

With the score tied at 4, Freeman slashed a 2-2 pitch from Philadelphia reliever Mario Hollands into the gap in left-center field. Left fielder Domonic Brown cut the ball off and fired a strike to second base, where second baseman Chase Utley slapped the tag on the sliding Freeman.

Second-base umpire Jordan Baker called Freeman out, but Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez challenged, and the call was overturned upon review.

Freeman would score on a two-out single by catcher Christian Bethancourt off Miguel Alfredo Gonzalez to give Atlanta a 5-4 lead.

Jon Cooper is a contributor to MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español