{}
CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

Confusing call actually just ball four

Confusing balk call actually just ball four

|
HOUSTON -- Some official scoring confusion occurred in the Braves' half of the second inning Saturday night when home plate umpire Jeff Nelson was prepared to call a balk on Roy Oswalt as he faced Adam LaRoche.

On a 3-1 count and with Andruw Jones on first, Oswalt threw a pitch that LaRoche took. Nelson immediately made a signal that had many in the press box thinking a balk was called. Instead, what actually happened was since the pitch was ruled a ball, LaRoche technically walked, advancing Jones to second.

Had a strike been called, Nelson would have ruled a balk, advancing Jones to second, while the count would have remained 3-1 on LaRoche.

According to the penalty phase of Rule 8.05: The ball is dead, and each runner shall advance one base without liability to be put out, unless the batter reaches first on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, in which case the play proceeds without reference to a balk.

Joe Frisaro is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{}
{}
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español